Full Spectrum

Work was cancelled today due to a blizzard knocking out our internet and phone lines so I decided to do some fancy makeup. You know- to do the laundry and catch up on house work like a boss.

(Please excuse my watery, squinty eyes. My head hurt while taking these.)

A few Christmas’ ago my wonderful husband surprised me with a bunch Urban Decay makeup. He did GOOD. Like, really good. Since then, the Urban Decay Full Spectrum Palette has remained one of my favorites.

I’m not going to take a picture of it right now because mine isn’t exactly pretty at this point, but it’s popular and easily searchable on the internet. The pallet is an array of beautiful, bright rainbow colors. It’s wonderful for those who want a look to stand out but not for those who are going for a subtle look. This palette is for shock factor and attention grabbing.

I wanted to try something new today but I didn’t know what so I scanned google images of bright makeup ideas until I found one I liked and then altered the colors and eye liner a little to customize the look for myself. I do this often for inspiration.

I don’t wear blue eyeshadow often because of my warm, pale skin tone but I decided to go for it today since I am not leaving the house and I think it went okay.

Here’s how to achieve this look:

I used Rimmel Stay Matte foundation and a Wet n Wild color icon blush to contour. I did not wear blush on my cheeks because I felt like with how pale I am, I needed to be careful exactly how much color I added to my face or I could easily look like a clown.

Here are the Urban Decay eyeshadow colors I used in the Full Spectrum Palette:

For the green on the inner corner eyelid I used Mean. The mid eyelid, Metamorphosis. The outer corner, Blindsided. I used a blending brush to blend from the inner corner out. I then used Sketch in and above my crease and Goldmine under the brows. The hot pink on the lower lid is Gossip. Because I felt like Sketch was a little too dark purple, I used a layer of Urban Decay Asphyxia, which is NOT included in the Full Spectrum Palette on top of it.

I did the outer edges of my liner with the Urban Decay Perversion, fine point eye pen and then filled in the middle with a black liner pencil.

I had mentioned before in a previous post that I was trying Essence The False Lash Mascara And wasn’t sure that I liked it. It started out thick and hard to manage but after playing with application methods for a few days, It’s grown on me and become my daily mascara.

I was taught in cosmetology school to apply mascara starting with the wand at the lid of your eye and gently wiggling your hand back and forth while dragging the wand against your lash to fully cover all sides of your eyelashes.

With this mascara, it seems to work the best if you do this method but then just swoop the brush straight over your lash again without wiggling your hand to help separate your lashes and keep them from clumping, but still offering full coverage. If this doesn’t make sense to you, let me know and I will try to explain better or take a video.

Another great gift I got that Christmas from my husband was the Urban Decay Vice lipstick palette. The lipsticks are not exactly long lasting but they glide on like softened butter and are vivid. I absolutely recommend them, but I will be honest that I also recommend buying an extra lip brush if you buy it as mine fell apart after a few months. I’m currently using an inexpensive E.L.F. Lip brush that works perfectly fine and has held up better than the one that came with the Vice Palette.

Today I used Speedball on my bottom lip, Firebird on my top lip and then just added a little layer of Big Bang, which is glittery.

Per usual, let me know if you have any questions or requests. I sincerely appreciated anyone who takes the time to read my blog.

#makeup #fashion #art #UrbanDecay #Rimmel #beauty #eyeshadow

Leave a comment